Town Planning Board

What We Do:

The Planning Board is a five member elected board.  The Town Planner oversees the board's administrative process and provides technical assistance to prospective applicants.

It is the responsibility of the Planning Board to approve different types of development including divisions of land to create new lots, all new nonresidential buildings over 700 square feet and all new residential construction and additions that are over 500 square feet within the shoreline and harbor front districts. In addition to the site plan approval special permits and subdivision control approvals, the Board issues smart growth special permits, wireless communication special permits and incentive zoning special permits.  State and local laws which govern the process for these approvals are Massachusetts General Laws (MGL) Chapter 40A (the Zoning Act); MGL Chapter 41, Sections 81K – 81GG (the Subdivision Control Law); the Town of Marblehead Subdivision Rules and Regulations Chapter 258 of the by-laws of the Town of Marblehead, MGL Chapter 40A  and the Town of Marblehead  Zoning Bylaws.

Contact Information:

Click on the drop-down "View Contact Info" above for hours of operation, phone numbers and address.

Staff Contacts

Name Title
Rebecca Curran Cutting Town Planner

Board Members

Name Title
Edward O. Nilsson Member
Robert J. Schaeffner Member
Rossanna Ferrante Member
Steve Leverone Associate Member
Andrew Christensen Member