Conservation Commission

What We Do:

The Conservation Commission has two main areas of responsibility:

  1. To manage and protect the conservation lands held in trust for all residents of the town.
  2. To administer and enforce:
    1. The State Wetlands Protection Act and its regulations;
    2. The Marblehead Wetlands Protection Bylaw and its regulations;
    3. The State Storm Water Guidelines within the jurisdictional areas of the Commission. These areas include coastal beaches, coastal banks, salt marshes, ponds, streams, and wetlands such as bogs and swamps.

The commission must approve construction projects which involve wetlands in Marblehead.


The Conservation Commission was established in 1964.  There are seven members who are appointed by the Board of Selectmen for three-year, staggered terms.

When We Meet:

The Conservation Commission meets in the Lower Level Conference Room of the Mary Alley Municipal Building at 7:00 pm on the second Thursday of each month until further notice.

E-mail the Conservation Commission.

Staff Contacts

Name Title
Lisa Lyons Senior Clerk

Commission Members

Brian W. LeClair


David Depew


Michael Smith


David VanHoven


Jesse Harlan Alderman


Lindsey Serefin


William Colehower