SELECT BOARD

MINUTES

January 23, 2023

Board met in HYBRID session at 7:00 p.m. at Abbot Hall and via ZOOM Conferencing The following members were present constituting a quorum:

M. C. Moses Grader, Chair Jackie Belf-Becker Erin M. Noonan, remotely James E. Nye Alexa J. Singer, remotely

Thatcher W. Kezer III, Town Administrator

The Chair called the meeting to order. The following role call vote was taken: Mrs. Singer, present (remotely); Mrs. Noonan, present (remotely); Mr. Nye, present; Mrs. Belf-Becker, present; Mr. Grader, present.

JOINT MEETING WITH SCHOOL COMMITTEE. Interviews. Appointment.

The Board met in joint session with School Committee members Sarah Fox, Chair, Sarah Gold, Meagan Taylor and Alison Taylor, in accordance with MGL Chapter 41 §11 and Marblehead School Committee policy BBBE, to fill a vacancy on the school committee. Chair Grader welcomed the candidates to the meeting and gave a brief outline for the interview process. The following applicants were interviewed: Paul Baker, Don DeWitt, Raymond Hanson, Thomas Mathers, Liam McGeown, Scott Stunkel.

The Chair called for a 5-minute recess at the completion of the interviews.

Motion made and seconded to place all applicants' names in for nomination. Moved by Mrs. Noonan. Board members made various comments and thanked all applicants for stepping up and encouraged all to stay engaged in the Town. The Town Administrator outlined the procedure for voting. A majority vote is required to appoint. If a majority is not received on the first round the lowest vote getter(s) will be eliminated and a 2nd round of voting will take place with additional rounds until a majority is received. On a polled vote the Board's voted as follows: Sarah Gold, Paul Baker; Meagan Taylor, Paul Baker; Alison Taylor, Don DeWitt; Sarah Fox, Tom Mathers; Alexa Singer, Tom Mathers; Erin Noonan, Don DeWitt; Jim Nye, Ray Hanson; Jackie Belf-Becker, Paul Baker; Moses Grader, Tom Mathers. A majority vote was not reached. Liam McGeown and Scott Stunkel were eliminated from 2nd round voting. On a 2nd polled vote the Board's voted as follows: Sarah Gold, Paul Baker; Meagan Taylor, Paul Baker; Alison Taylor, Tom Mathers; Sarah Fox, Tom Mathers; Alexa Singer, Tom Mathers; Erin Noonan, Tom Mathers; Jim Nye, Ray Hanson; Jackie Belf-Becker, Paul Baker; Moses Grader, Tom Mathers; Jim Nye, Ray Hanson; Jackie Belf-Becker, Paul Baker; Moses Grader, Tom

Mathers. Tom Mathers is appointed to the School Committee with a term to expire in May 2023.

Motion made and seconded to adjourn at 9:20 p.m. Moved by Mr. Nye, seconded by Mrs. Noonan. On a polled vote the Board voted as follows: Mrs. Noonan, in favor; Mrs. Singer, in favor; Mr. Nye, in favor; Mrs. Belf-Becker, in favor; Mr. Grader, in favor.

Kyle A. Wiley Administrative Aide

List of documents used:

Letters of interest/resumes/list of questions:

Paul Baker, Don DeWitt, Raymond Hansen, Thomas Mathers, Liam McGeown, Scott Stunkel