Harbor Picture by Rob Kipp,
Spirit of ’76 Picture by Nick Fader

Go To Search
Notify Me

Town of Marblehead
Abbot Hall
188 Washington Street
Marblehead, MA 01945
Task Force Against Discrimination
Task Force Members
Selectmen's Office

Abbot Hall
188 Washington Street
Marblehead, MA  01945

fax 781-631-8571

Hours of Operation
8 AM - 5 PM
8 AM - 5 PM
8 AM - 6 PM
8 AM - 5 PM
8 Am - 12:30 PM
Edmund Grogan
Helaine R. Hazlett
Anne Marie Hunter
Harvey Michaels
Robert Picariello, Chief of Police
Monica Tecca
Loren Weston
John E. Whipple, Deacon
Sophia Smith, Student Representative
Vacancy, Student Representative

What We Do
The Task Force Against Discrimination was formed to address the issue of prejudice and bigotry following an anti-Semitic incident in 1989.

The commission, consisting of nine members, includes a member of the clergy, a law enforcement officer, an attorney or educator, and concerned citizens appointed yearly by the Board of Selectmen. The commission's goal is to maintain a community where all individuals are welcome regardless of race, religion, sexual orientation or ethnic background. The Task Force meets throughout the year in open sessions to discuss concerns raised by the residents of the Town and to create ongoing programs that will celebrate diversity within the Town.

The Task Force Against Discrimination was instrumental in making the Town of Marblehead a No Place for Hate community, a project sponsored by the Anti-Defamation League, Massachusetts Municipal Association and Blue Cross-Blue Shield. Marblehead has been awarded membership in No Place for Hate for the past three years.

When We Meet
The Task Force Against Discrimination meets on an as-needed basis and is available to citizens at any time. Meetings are posted.